Mixing sounds with haXe, the Memory API, and looping MP3s

Posted on September 13, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

SampleTrackManager

I started working on my own Sound manager, called the SampleTrackManager, for mixing and playing back music and sound effects in flash. I know there are quite a few Sound manager’s out there, but I was inspired by Joe Berkovitz’s standingwave project and the Alchemy work done on standingwave3 to synchronize playback of sounds. I played around with the Flash 10 SampleDataEvent when it first came out, so I figured this would be a good opportunity to make something useful with it. Plus I was kind of annoyed that I couldn’t play 32 Sounds in a for loop and have them synchronize because there’s some latency. 🙂

The goal of the Sound manager was to make it easy to play samples on different tracks so I could operate on them separately while still being able to choreograph them. The first version was in AS3 and while it worked the performance was terrible. Playing a single looping sample was 3 times slowing than playing a looping Sound instance, and while increasing the number of samples written to the SampleDataEvent helped performance it introduced latency. I suspected the all the ByteArray function calls for reading and writing floats in the inner mixing loop was slowing things, down since functions calls in Flash are very slow.

So I created a haXe version and utilized the haxe.Memory API which uses the new Alchemy opcodes. To my surprise I can now mix 64 samples using about the same amount of CPU as playing back 32 Sound instances! Wow!

Once I organize things, I’ll put the SampleTrackManager up on github. I have a hierarchical state machine I want to release as well, but that’s another post.

Looping MP3s
One issue I ran into while working on my test demo, was the infamous gap issue with mp3 playback. I did a little searching and found a solution posted by Scott Schiller for SoundManager2. It turns out that using the lame mp3 encoder’s –nogap options is the key to creating looping mp3s. I created a little bash script that works great!


#!/bin/bash

# Creates a loopable mp3 from a looping wav.
# Example: loopMp3 input.wav output.mp3

mkdir loop_gapless
cp $1 loop_gapless/start.wav
cp $1 loop_gapless/mid.wav
cp $1 loop_gapless/end.wav
cd loop_gapless
lame -b 128 -h --nogap start.wav mid.wav end.wav
cp mid.mp3 ../$2
cd ..
rm -rf loop_gapless

Enjoy!

— UPDATE: I’ve posted the code, the mp3 script, and a sample here:
https://github.com/geekrelief/gr_sound

Cheers!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Mixing sounds with haXe, the Memory API, and looping MP3s”

RSS Feed for Blazing Bytes Comments RSS Feed

Hi Geekrelief!
Any plans for releasing the codef for the Haxe Soundmanager? Can’t find it on your github page…

Regards / Jonas

Sounds good … did you ever post your code for this to github?

I’m in a similar situation: filtering through sampleData, but need to improve inner loop performance (read and write of byteArray) … hitting a blank at swapping in flash.Memory as I’ve not used it before.

Any snippet would be appreciated 🙂

Hi Jonas / Bob, sorry for the late reply. I’ve posted the code up on github here. https://github.com/geekrelief/gr_sound


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

